Lughnasadh – August 1, 2016

This year, I’m making a concerted effort to actually do something special for each of my patron’s designated holidays. (Some of the designations are slightly arbitrary and based on my own interpretation, but Lughnasadh is pretty straightforward.)

For my Lughnasadh celebration, I cleaned and cleansed the altar with rosewater, and changed the garland to reflect sunny summer flowers. The cleaning and the changing happen for most sabbats, when I can find the time.

Lugh Samildanach (”many-skilled”) is one of my patron deities, and he presides over feats of skill, craftsmanship, friendly competition, battle prowess, and the first harvests of grain and fruit. Accordingly, I made my offering of song, fire, fresh fruit, plum wine, and orange-amber perfume oil.

Dinner tonight will be blackened catfish with macaroni and cheese, plus veggie and fruit salads.

Happy Lughnasadh, everyone!

Author: Bree NicGarran

Published Writer. Mom Friend. Pagan Blogger. Practicing Witch.

Leave a Reply

