NaNoWriMo – Day 22

Closing in on 40 pages, word count stands at just over 6,000. I’m nearly done with the first section, which is the foreword, the advice for beginners, and half a dozen how-to articles. Some of them turned out to be longer than I expected, and I’m still not sure whether I’ll need to try and create diagrams for the one I still have to write.

I’m actually pretty jazzed right now, and things are quiet, like they usually are at 3am, and I’m thinking of just pulling an all-nighter to work on the book and get my sleep schedule back on track. I know that sounds ass-backwards, but with how my insomnia works, I wind up being wide awake staring at the wall until like 5am, and then I pass out until noon or 1pm and accomplish next to nothing.

Lather, rinse, repeat.

When will my sleep return from the war….

So the only way to fix it (for me) is with the sleep cycle equivalent of a hard reset: stay up all night, power through the following day, go to bed at a decent hour when I’m exhausted enough to actually sleep through the night.

And in the meantime, I’ll try and get some more work done. The wee dark hours are when I come up with some of my best ideas anyway.

Author: Bree NicGarran

Published Writer. Mom Friend. Pagan Blogger. Practicing Witch.

1 thought on “NaNoWriMo – Day 22”

  1. I gave up long ago trying to have “normal” sleeping hours – thank God I don’t have a 9-5 job!! I regularly do “all-nighters” – I don’t usually go to bed until anywhere between 5 a.m. and 9 a.m.; and I don’t need more than 5 1/2 hours’ sleep, so I still manage to get quite a lot done in a day. Keep writing! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

