Updates – May 19, 2017

With The Sisters Grimmoire once more on digital shelves, it’s on to my next big project!

Pestlework, as some of you may have seen, is due out this August to replace The Witches’ Cupboard. (The copyright for that is reverting to co-author Anna effective September 1st.) I’ve already compiled all of my recipes from the Cupboard and from Grovedaughter Witchery, and now I’m in the process of creating a few dozen entirely new recipes to give the book a bit more heft.

The goal right now is 200+ recipes (nearly there) and 150+ pages (sitting around 110 at the moment). I also have to spruce up the instructions for making magical powders and oils, suss out the safety information, and expand the descriptions of some of my older recipes. It’s going fairly well thus far, and I’m on target to meet my expected release date.

My method right now involves flipping through the Heldstab, diGregorio, and Cunningham books on oils and powders and jotting down concept ideas as they come to me, then going back and fleshing out formulas and descriptions later on. This both keeps the creative juices flowing and keeps me from accidentally plagiarizing established works.

As it turns out, a fair amount of pop culture magic is finding its’ way into this piece. To give a prime example, there is a formula that helps the caster achieve their goals by removing the competition. I call it Blue Shell Success Oil. (I can hear you groaning. That’s okay. My husband did too.)

I’ve been at this all afternoon, so I think I’ll take a quick break to grab some food and re-up my drink, then I’ll be back at it until the wee hours.

Author: Bree NicGarran

Published Writer. Mom Friend. Pagan Blogger. Practicing Witch.

Leave a Reply

