Feedback Gives Me Life

Okay, I just want to take a moment here to thank my latest Amazon reviewer for Grovedaughter Witchery. I’ve gotten some amazing and thorough reviews in my time, but this one just might take the cake.

Verified Purchase Review from Jax:

Great for secular practitioners!

This is my favorite book to recommend to people about modern secular witchcraft. First, it’s the most secular book on witchcraft I’ve read to date. Second, it has a little something for everyone from the secular beginner to the more advanced secular witches. There’s really no dogma or deities to speak of in this book. Some of you might not realize, but there was just a collective cheer from the secular witch community 😜

First, her advice for beginners is practical. She assumes you’ve got no tools and no common sense. This is a good thing. We should be discussing fire safety, consent, curse positivity, and cultural appropriation with every new witch. Add in how to create your own spells, accumulate tools and materials practically, even make some of your own tools, info on color magic, and herbal guides, there’s some solid beginners advice.

Where beginners will come for the intro, others will adore the spells. The collection of oil, powder, potion, and incense recipes, along with witch bottles, charms, poppets, and spells (including curses) had me giddy. I was adding spells and recipes to my Grimoire left and right like a greedy witch. Sorrynotsorry. These spells are the kind you want to see in modern witchcraft. Sure, sometimes we want to feel like a 16th century witch stirring twigs, body parts, and herbs in a cauldron looking dark af, but other times I just want to use common herbs and use my glue gun and freakin microwave. Let’s be real.

Then, there is a great herbal correspondences section at the end of the book a la Cunningham, meaning listed by purpose/correspondence, including a herbal substitution list and notations on poisonous plants. There are even special lists for herbs used in warding/protection and curses. I literally copied the whole thing into my grimoire. I’m not joking, it took hours.

Lastly there’s a section on suggested books and texts, and a few suggestions on where to find herbs and spell materials online. Much appreciated.

Do yourself a favor, especially if you’re a secular witch, and get this book. It’s not very long, but it focuses on quality.

I hope this review was helpful to you. Happy reading!

Jax, I don’t know who you are or if you’ll see this, but I wanted to thank you. Seeing this today gave me SUCH a lift, and I’m so glad to know that my book is having a positive impact.

Thank you to all my reviewers for taking the time to give me feedback! You have no idea how much you help. 🙂

Author: Bree NicGarran

Published Writer. Mom Friend. Pagan Blogger. Practicing Witch.

Leave a Reply

